Definitions by a Previous Aaron

Leave a comment

July 15, 2017 by Distracted in Alberta

At the moment, I am rebuilding and redesigning “Distracted in Alberta“, as I wanted a more classic design. Something that felt almost like a zine or if you were touching the pages instead of your laptop, or tablet, or smartphone, that the pages look like something you would want to touch.

Anyways… while I was grabbing some URLs, earlier, I came across an old Flickr Account, which honestly, it looks like I have neglected for more than 5-years now! However, what I did find were these words, that my previous being had written about being an Artist, Traditional Photographer, Digital Photographer and the Non-Conforming Photographer. The enjoyment of these titles and their definitions made me wonder what else I had written and where those words are today?

I do hope you enjoy these personal opinions on the art and craft of Photography;

An Artist in my opinion is a person with a vision. They look at a scene in front of them, contemplate what they have found and think of 100 different ways to capture it.

A Traditional Photographer in my opinion is a person who doesn’t use digital technology nor inhibits their frame with an accessory. A traditionalist knows what it takes to capture an image as is in the frame and carries on with each image in a meticulous way. Every decision is a moment in time where they have thought, planned, and executed their shot.

A Digital Photographer in my opinion is a person who needs an accessory to develop their image. They have not seen the image as is, out there in the world but has the desire to take an image and construct it inside their digital darkroom into a magnificent collage of information.

A Non-Conforming Photographer in my opinion is a combination of the above descriptions. They know when an image needs nothing else, they know when to seek out 100 different ideas and they know when to use a digital darkroom to enhnace, retouch and manipulate images.

Then Who Am I ?

Through and through, I am an Artist seeking the truth in a traditionalists body. I believe an image should be captured as is, in the world that surrounds me. I feel each image tells a story of place and time, of a person and their culture. The scene in front of me speaks in various colors, shapes, and tonal ranges. And I as the photographer must seek out to capture its inner beauty utlizing every technique available to me at that moment in time.

~ Aaron J. JacksonCrabb

To see images of mine, go to the following sites!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

O’Connell Street, Dublin, Ireland (c) 2016 JacksonCrabb Photography 

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Lucky #stonyplain #architecture #windowpane #horseshoes #blackandwhite #distractedinalberta #eavestrough #rainspout #oldbricks #reflection Triangle #shapes #glass #oldbricks #weathered #architecture #geometry #panes #window Weathered #autumn #changeinseasons #stonyplain #willow #wilted #wildflower Slats #construction #sundaywalk #stonyplain #distractedinalberta #architecture #heritage #openhauserhouse #workmanship #slats Flight #airplane #travel #lights #landing #yeg #eia #iloveairplanes #distractedinalberta InSpire #yeg #blackandwhite #bw #moving  #distractedinalberta #spire #inspiration #construction #temple #seikh #albertaviews

Join my Patreon!

Thank you for stopping by Distracted in Alberta!

We are EXCITED to announce the date of our Launch of our Patreon Page;

Wednesday Nov 1 @ 24:00

Keeping Up

July 2017
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Hours & Info

Phone #: Coming Soon
Email: 24/7/365
Text: 9am to 9pm MST
Phone: 9am to 6pm MST
Carrier Pigeon: 10am to 1:30pm MST
Smoke Signal: Anytime
Mabry Campbell Photo Blog

Photo-of-the-day ⎟Study Images + Portfolio Images

Mathew Lyons

WRITER & HISTORIAN

Squat Rack Shenanigans

Striking a Balance Between Strength and Stage

Patrik Oberlin

Fotografie

Life as we see it..

My journey around the world

Vagrant. Anonymous.

This is not a travel blog

the Confessions of a Wanderer

constantly searching for my next adventure

Kendall F. Person

Writer & Creator Portfolio and Collaboration Place

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

Healthy Living

A day in the life of a girl trying to stay fit and healthy