Canada Celebrates 150 Years of Independence

Leave a comment

July 1, 2017 by Distracted in Alberta

Upon entering Sorrentino’s Restaurant on the southern edge of town, the hostess asked where we would like to sit? The consensus was the patio. We were seated and eventually the wife and I had dinner consisting of one Gluten-free five mushroom pizza with arugula, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese, and one Gluten-free mediterranean pasta with roasted red peppers, mushrooms and feta cheese. The wife gladly accepted a house red wine and I took a water with lemon. Over the course of dinner which started at 7:53pm, we wind down our Friday, discussed our workdays and chatted about the upcoming weekend. Once at home, we unwound further with an adult beverage, mine consisting of a tall Guinness and her a German Gluten-free beer. Our evening was spent watching a movie called The Company Men starring Ben Affleck, Kevin Costner, Craig T. Nelson, Tommy Lee Jones and several other well known actors. Just after the movie concluded at 11:43pm, the wife stretched, yawned and made a B-line for the bathroom in preparations for sleeping.

I, on the other hand, stayed up screwing around on my cellphone until 2:10am. After which my cellphone gladly died and I went down into the basement to wash my 2009 Toyota Corolla Sport. The reason for my late night preparations of the car, is that I am trying to sell it. And it being Canada Day tomorrow, the Town of Stony Plain is hosting its annual “show & shine” along Main Street. So, what better place to display my own automobile, then in the parking lot of my Condo building.

After washing the inside and the outside for about an hour, I went to start the car, only to find that it would not start. Thankfully, I own a 5-speed manual transmission and with a bit of a slope inside the parkade, I was able to jump-start the car by rolling it backwards and then forwards down that same slope. Once the car was started, I decided to go for a quick drive around town, to give the car a bit of rejuvenation and some time for myself to reflect on 6-months of 2017.

Heading north along route 779, I noticed that the clouds were beginning to part and a bunch of blue-green hues were expanding in the Northern sky. Oddly enough, just below the blue-green hues was a stretch of orange-red-pink hues marking the beginning of a new day. However, I thought to myself, “how is this possible?” and “it’s only 2:57am?”

Literally the sky was changing before me to the North and behind me to the South the sky was pitch black. I looked for stars and saw none. I continued driving North along 779 in the hopes that the strange colouring in the sky was actually the Aurora Borealis and I laughed as I did not have any photographic gear with me, if it was actually the Northern Lights causing these interesting early morning hues in the sky. 

What does all of this have to do with Celebrating Canada’s 150th year of Independence?

Honestly, I have no idea. Other than it was a fantastic way to start off Saturday July 1, 2017.

~ Aaron J. JacksonCrabb

 

Leave a Reply

Instagram

"Edmonton, like the rest of Alberta is under construction. Cranes, roadways, tunnels, LRT transit, infrastructure and more! It's like YEG is "keeping up with the Jonses""
.
.
.
.
.
#yeg #edmontonconstruction
#infrastructure #highrise #downtown #cranesinthesky #distractedinalberta #jacksoncrabb #sunset #alberta #canada150 Flight Loss.
.
.
.
.
.
#saturdaydrive #yeg #corollasport #distractedinalberta #summerdrive #alberta #bug #splatter #jacksoncrabb #grasshopper #mandown #grilling Penguin Bling.
.
.
.
.
.
#graffiti #yeg #penguin #bling #whatson 
#distractedinalberta #jacksoncrabb #alberta #snowflake #artist #expression Use your head #fcedmonton #soccer #fridaynight #livesport #yeg #hometeam #distractedinalberta #jacksoncrabb #futbol #canada "To be honest, we usually really enjoy gardening. However this summer we've just been super neglectful of our responsibilities as gardeners. And yet the plants are thriving, seeding, flowering and producing without our care."
.
.
.
.
.
#neglectfulgardener #gardening #Alberta #yeg #distracted #jungle #jacksoncrabb #hangingwiththewife #seeding #flowering #producing #thriving #summer "My hands are sore from ALL the clapping as my eyes were dazzled, amazed and filled with humour, wonderment, acrobatics, costumes, & bodies flying through the air!!!"
.
.
.
.
.
#cirquedusoleil #yeg #alberta #wonderment #jacksoncrabb #pureenjoyment #fantastic #acrobatics #contorsionist  #amazement #distracted #hangingwiththewife

Join my Patreon!

Thank you for stopping by Distracted in Alberta!

We are EXCITED to announce the date of our Launch of our Patreon Page will begets 

Monday August 14 @ 24:00

Keeping Up

July 2017
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Hours & Info

Phone #: Coming Soon
Email: 24/7/365
Text: 9am to 9pm MST
Phone: 9am to 6pm MST
Carrier Pigeon: 10am to 1:30pm MST
Smoke Signal: Anytime
Mabry Campbell Photo Blog

Photo-of-the-day ⎟Study Images + Portfolio Images

Mathew Lyons

WRITER & HISTORIAN

Squat Rack Shenanigans

Striking a Balance Between Strength and Stage

Patrik Oberlin

Mit Licht und Schatten....

Life as we see it..

My journey around the world

Vagrant. Anonymous.

This is not a travel blog

the Confessions of a Wanderer

constantly searching for my next adventure

Kendall F. Person

Writer & Creator Portfolio and Collaboration Place

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

Healthy Living

A day in the life of a girl trying to stay fit and healthy