From the Dentist Chair to the Desk Chair

Leave a comment

May 4, 2017 by Distracted in Alberta

Here’s the deal… I live along main street in small town with a population of 14,000 people. When it is not business hours the main street is like a ghost town. The best thing about this small town is that I have the dentist and optometrist across the street. So, whenever I book an appointment, I always do this at the start of the day: 8:00am. Then I get into the company truck and drive down the highway to company headquarters.

This morning is one of those morning’s when I get to visit the dentist. I’ve been putting off this dental appointment for about 6-months now. It is for a filing. The filing shouldn’t be all that scary of an ordeal. Someone is just going to root around in your mouth, put some sort of cement like mixture into a hole in your tooth and its going to seal your tooth back to “normal”. This is a preventative tool for possible future mouth and tooth issues. One of those measures not to have a root canal. Which is how they got me to come back. “Would you rather pay $200 for a filing or $1500 for a root canal?” 

And here we go. Promptly at 8am, I entered the dental office. Checked-in. Before I could grab a seat and a magazine, I was called to the back. The nice dental assistant asked me to hang up my jacket. I did just that. I sat down in the lounger chair and she laced up my bib, gave me my glasses and started providing random instructions which made a little sense (I’m not a morning person) and the instructions went into one ear and out the other without sticking in the middle section of recognition and understanding.

A handful of prepping items onto the silver tray in front of me. Looks like a dremel tool set, just miniature sized. Made a joke about the tools. Laughed. Shouldn’t make jokes in the dental office. Next thing I know, we are getting the “freeze treatment“. How does that feel? I can still feel my lip and tongue. Okay, add more disgusting tasting stuff into my mouth, almost threw up, and away we go in 5, 4, 3, 2… 1 lift off. The right side of my face, tongue, lip, and gums were all frozen.

I only know this as the dentist started to do something with one of her little mechanical tools and I received a super shock through my bottom lip. My toes tingled, I jumped and she says, “Oh you must be frozen now. Did you get a little shock?” A LITTLE SHOCK! Oh boy! This is what I get for saying my face wasn’t numb enough the first go around. Okay. Mental note. I am NOW awake!

The dental assistant then outfitted me with a bit thing, and a blue drape over my mouth, clipped it into my teeth as though it were dental floss. Then pulled out some cleaning floss, ripped through a couple of those, prep, prep, prep and the dentist reappeared with those weird dental glasses with the light in between her eyes and the tiny little magnifiers on the edge of her nose.

In less than 20-minutes they had completed their tasks inside my mouth, left me with my first filing and a half frozen face. Wow! That wasn’t fun. Also, I learnt that the dental assistant is planning her wedding, that she just bought a veil for $250 instead of $700 (are you serious!?), that she had to assist her fiancé and his mother for the song choice for the mother and son dance and that she has another fitting this Saturday for her dress, which she may or may not get to take home.

Up to the counter, talked to the receptionist. Sign here, here and here. And out the door I went. Now here I sit wondering if I can talk. I speak to my wife whose working across the table and she smiles, laughs, and says “well I can understand you.” Great! Will anyone else?

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Lucky #stonyplain #architecture #windowpane #horseshoes #blackandwhite #distractedinalberta #eavestrough #rainspout #oldbricks #reflection Triangle #shapes #glass #oldbricks #weathered #architecture #geometry #panes #window Weathered #autumn #changeinseasons #stonyplain #willow #wilted #wildflower Slats #construction #sundaywalk #stonyplain #distractedinalberta #architecture #heritage #openhauserhouse #workmanship #slats Flight #airplane #travel #lights #landing #yeg #eia #iloveairplanes #distractedinalberta InSpire #yeg #blackandwhite #bw #moving  #distractedinalberta #spire #inspiration #construction #temple #seikh #albertaviews

Join my Patreon!

Thank you for stopping by Distracted in Alberta!

We are EXCITED to announce the date of our Launch of our Patreon Page;

Wednesday Nov 1 @ 24:00

Keeping Up

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Hours & Info

Phone #: Coming Soon
Email: 24/7/365
Text: 9am to 9pm MST
Phone: 9am to 6pm MST
Carrier Pigeon: 10am to 1:30pm MST
Smoke Signal: Anytime
Mabry Campbell Photo Blog

Photo-of-the-day ⎟Study Images + Portfolio Images

Mathew Lyons

WRITER & HISTORIAN

Squat Rack Shenanigans

Striking a Balance Between Strength and Stage

Patrik Oberlin

Fotografie

Life as we see it..

My journey around the world

Vagrant. Anonymous.

This is not a travel blog

the Confessions of a Wanderer

constantly searching for my next adventure

Kendall F. Person

Writer & Creator Portfolio and Collaboration Place

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

Healthy Living

A day in the life of a girl trying to stay fit and healthy